title_organisation_en

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Baden-Württemberg - our favorite location in Europe

Logo state of Baden-Württemberg

Home Language Selection


Home Content Area

Home Navigator

You are here:

End Navigator


03.03.2009

An inconspicuous relative

Prof. Ralf Reski and his team of scientists at the University of Freiburg have been dealing with the function of moss for many years. The plant biologist has now uncovered impressive evidence of the relationship between mosses and other organisms.

Together with a team of researchers led by Prof. Martin Fussenegger at the ETH Zurich, the Freiburg scientists have taken a decisive step towards being able to compare the biological processes of complex organisms with the way the moss “Physcomitrella patents” functions. When plants and animals moved from the sea to the land more than 400 million years ago, mosses were among the first to colonise the land. This was at a time when the last common ancestor of fish and humans was still alive. Since then, mosses have remained virtually unchanged. Everybody can recognise mosses from forests and gardens. If we follow Darwin’s theory of evolution we can also imagine that mosses may be related in some way to humans. However, the scientists are now sure that humans and mosses use the same genetic control elements, and this knowledge is truly sensational.
Humans and mosses – closer relatives than anticipated
Humans and mosses – closer relatives than anticipated  (© University of Freiburg)

The researchers, whose findings were recently published in the scientific journal "Plant Biotechnology Journal", discovered that key components of the mammalian transcription, translation and secretion machineries are also fully functional in the moss Physcomitrella patens. "Although humans and mosses are very different from each other, they have surprising genetic similarities in that they have the same molecular components (eds. notes: promoters, polyadenylation sites)," said Reski further explaining that this finding supports Darwin's evolutionary theory according to which all living organisms emerged from one common ancestor. Reski's team are using the moss as a "living laboratory". "Our findings bring us a decisive step forward in synthetic biology which enables us to shape natural processes in a way that allows us to optimally control and use these processes," explains Reski. Working in close cooperation with biologists, chemists and engineers, including researchers from "bioss", the first excellence cluster in Freiburg that focuses on synthetic biology, the findings gained from moss research create an important basis for understanding complex biological systems. "We are using our detailed knowledge of Physcomitrella patens in a research project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) where we are focusing on developing new drug production methods," said Reski. This shows that, despite their advanced age, mosses have not lost their attraction and will most likely play an important role in the lives of humans and not just remain something pleasant to look at in forests and gardens.

On the recommendation of:
Logo BioRegion Freiburg
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg (P) - 03.03.2009

Original publication:
Marc Gitzinger, Dr. Juliana Parsons, Prof. Dr. Ralf Reski and Prof. Dr. Martin Fussenegger, "Functional cross-kingdom conservation of mammalian and moss (Physcomitrella patens) transcription, translation and secretion machineries", Plant Biotechnology Journal.

Further information:
Prof. Dr. Ralf Reski
Tel.: (49)0761/203-6969
Fax: (49)0761/203-6967
E-mail: pbt(at)biologie.uni-freiburg.de

SEARCH


DATABASE

for Companies and Research Institutions



NEWSLETTER


GLOSSARY

All biological terms with explanation




http://www.bio-pro.de/standort/5_bioregionen/bioregio_freiburg/index.html?lang=en

title_organisation_de

-»Diese Ausgabe ist für Browser ohne zureichende CSS-Unterstützung gedacht und richtet sich vor allem an Sehbehinderte. Alle Inhalte sind auch mit älteren Browsern voll nutzbar. Für eine grafisch ansprechendere Ansicht verwenden Sie aber bitte einen moder

Baden-Württemberg - der Biotechnologiestandort in Europa

Logo Bundesland Baden-Württemberg

Beginn Sprachwahl


Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Sie sind hier:

Ende Navigator


03.03.2009

Ein unscheinbarer Verwandter

Der Freiburger Pflanzenbiologe Prof. Ralf Reski, der mit seinem Team an der Universität Freiburg seit vielen Jahren die Funktion von Moosen erforscht, hat nun eindrucksvolle Verwandtschaftsbelege zwischen Moosen und anderen Organismen entdeckt.

Gemeinsam mit der Forschungsgruppe um Prof. Martin Fussenegger von der ETH Zürich ist es den Wissenschaftlern gelungen, einen entscheidenden Schritt weiter zu kommen bei der Übertragung von biologischen Abläufen aus komplexeren Lebewesen, zum Beispiel Tieren, auf die Funktionsweise der Moosart „Physcomitrella patens“, dem kleinen Blasenmützenmoos. Als sich das Leben vom Wasser aufs Land verlagerte, gehörten die Moose vor über 400 Millionen Jahren zu den ersten Besiedlern der bis dahin unbelebten Landschaften – zu einer Zeit, als noch der letzte gemeinsame Vorfahre von Fischen und Menschen lebte. Bis heute haben die Moose weitgehend unverändert überlebt und sind den meisten Menschen aus Wäldern und Garten bekannt. Dass Moose mit uns verwandt sein könnten, war im Sinne der Darwin’schen Evolutionstheorie durchaus denkbar – dass aber beide einfach dieselben genetischen Kontrollelemente benutzen können, ist eine kleine Sensation.
Zu sehen ist die Moospflanze "Physcomitrella patens".
Näher verwandt als vermutet: Mensch und Moos.  (© Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg)

In ihrer Arbeit, die vor kurzem in der angesehenen wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift „Plant Biotechnology Journal“ veröffentlicht wurde, konnten die Wissenschaftler nachweisen, dass Schlüsselelemente des Erbgutes wie Transkriptions-, Translations-, und Sekretionsmaschinerien, welche zur Synthese von Proteinen in Säugetieren bereits verwendet wurden, auch im evolutionär früh entstandenen Blasenmützenmoos ohne jegliche Anpassung aktiv sind. „Damit sind Mensch und Moos zwar sehr verschieden, aber in ihrem genetischen Gehalt doch wieder verblüffend ähnlich, da sie völlig unkompliziert dieselben molekularen Bausteine nutzen können“, erläutert Reski. Dies sei ein weiterer Hinweis auf die Evolutionstheorie, die besagt, dass sich alles Leben aus einem gemeinsamen Vorfahren entwickelt hat. Ziel dieser Arbeiten in Reskis Team ist, das Moos quasi als „lebendes Labor“ zu nutzen. „Unsere Erkenntnisse bringen uns entscheidend weiter auf dem Weg hin zur synthetischen Biologie, die uns in die Lage versetzt, natürliche Prozesse so zu gestalten, dass wir sie optimal kontrollieren und nutzen können“, führt Reski aus. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Biologen, Chemikern und Ingenieuren – unter anderem im ersten Freiburger Exzellenzcluster „bioss“, das sich schwerpunktmäßig mit synthetischer Biologie befasst – bilden die Erkenntnisse aus der Moos-Forschung eine wichtige Basis für komplexe biologische Systeme.

„Unsere genaue Kenntnis der Moospflanze Physcomitrella patens nutzen wir ganz konkret beispielsweise im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojekts, das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert wird, zur Entwicklung von neuen Produktionsverfahren für Medikamente“, sagt Reski. Moose gehören also trotz ihres großen Alters noch lange nicht zum alten Eisen und werden wohl schon bald eine ganz andere Rolle im Leben der Menschen spielen – auch außerhalb von Wald und Garten.

Mit Empfehlung von:
Logo BioRegion Freiburg
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg (P) - 03.03.2009

Originalveröffentlichung:
Marc Gitzinger, Dr. Juliana Parsons, Prof. Dr. Ralf Reski und Prof. Dr. Martin Fussenegger, „Functional cross-kingdom conservation of mammalian and moss (Physcomitrella patens) transcription, translation and secretion machineries“, Plant Biotechnology Journal.

Weitere Informationen zum Beitrag:
Prof. Dr. Ralf Reski
Tel.: (49)0761/203-6969
Fax: (49)0761/203-6967
E-Mail: pbt(at)biologie.uni-freiburg.de

SUCHEN


DATENBANK

für Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen



NEWSLETTER


GLOSSAR

Hier finden Sie Fachbegriffe mit Erläuterungen




http://www.bio-pro.de/standort/5_bioregionen/bioregio_freiburg/index.html?lang=de